Urban Economics Association

Logo UEA Summer School 2023 Montreal

2023 Summer School in Urban Economics

at McGill University and Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM)
May 29-31, 2023
Montréal, Canada


The UEA Summer School is designed for PhD students with an interest in urban economics, including housing, real estate, transportation, local public good provision, the spatial distribution of activities, economic geography, and urban or regional policy. The objective of the summer school is to offer an intensive training program for interested PhD students. The summer school will provide an opportunity for students to learn about the research frontier in urban economics, discuss their own research with leading researchers in the field in a relaxed and open atmosphere, and meet some of the future stars in the field.


Summer school program (PDF)



We invite applications from PhD students in their second year or beyond. Places in the school are limited by space constraints. This is an in-person event. Participants are expected to attend all three days in full.


Summer School Lectures:
UQAM, École des Sciences de la Gestion
320 rue St Catherine Est
Montreal, Quebec H2X 1L7

McGill Faculty Club
3450 McTavish St
Montreal, Quebec H3A 1X9

Application Procedure

The application deadline has passed.

Registration Fee and Financial Support

There is a registration fee of $225, which covers coffee breaks, working lunches, and at least one evening event. You are responsible for making your own travel and accommodation arrangements. We have a small pool of funds available to help students who need financial support. If you would like to apply for such support, please outline your case in your application letter in a separate section titled "Financial Support Request". We strongly encourage students to first investigate travel funding made available by their own universities. We do not anticipate offering financial assistance to students attending top US or European programs except under extraordinary circumstances.


Deadline for applications: March 30, 2023.

Application decisions have been announced.

Scientific Committee

Marco Gonzalez-Navarro (chair; Berkeley), Milena Almagro (Chicago Booth), Nina Harari (Wharton), Timothy McQuade (Berkeley Haas), Tomoya Mori (Kyoto University), Holger Sieg (UPenn), Nick Tsivanidis (Berkeley Haas).

Local organizers

Kristian Behrens (Université du Québec à Montréal), Nicolas Gendron-Carrier (McGill University), Julien Martin (Université du Québec à Montréal), Florian Mayneris (Université du Québec à Montréal), Marlon Seror (Université du Québec à Montréal).

We acknowledge the kind support of McGill University and École des Sciences de la Gestion, Université du Québec à Montréal